Top 15 (okay 16) films of 2004 Retro Edition

Back in 2004 I started constructing my Top 10 (or 15 or 20) films of each year lists. I didn’t have this blog then, and was just posting them on myspace (hey, remember when myspace was essentially twitter! Good times, good times). Before closing down my myspace I copied them with plans of posting them here and taking a look at what I think of each list retrospectively.

Since the 2004 list is half a decade old now, and I have seen approximately one bajillion films since then, it seems like a good time to check that one out. Here is the original list made after I viewed as many of the top candidates from 2004 as possible:

1a. Garden State
1b. Sideways
3. Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind
4. Kill Bill vol. 2
5. Million Dollar Baby
6. Closer
7. The Aviator
8. Hotel Rwanda
9. Finding Neverland
10. Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy
11. The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou
12. Badassss
13. House of Flying Daggars
14. Collateral
15a. Lemony Snickets: A Series of Unfortunate Events
15b. Mean Girls

Some thoughts: I would move Kill Bill vol. 2, Million Dollar Baby, Hotel Rwanda, Anchorman, and Mean Girls up.  I wouldn’t worry about including Life Aquatic (not the best Wes Anderson film), Badassss (seemed novel at the time, but really not memorable), House of Flying Daggars (amazing visuals, but nothing else), Collateral (other than Tom Cruise channeling the Terminator in certain scenes, it’s really not outstanding in other ways), and Lemony Snickets.

I didn’t include The Downfall, Shaun of the Dead, Motorcycle Diaries, and The Machinist as I hadn’t seen them. I would try to include them now.

So, if I re-made the list, here is how it would look:

1. Garden State

2. Kill Bill vol. 2

3. The Machinist

4. Million Dollar Baby

5. Hotel Rwanda

6. Eternal Sunshine

7. Motorcycle Diaries

8. Anchorman

9. Downfall

10. Sideways

11. Closer

12.The Aviator

13. Shaun of the Dead

14. Mean Girls

15. Finding Neverland

Leave a Reply

