I am Legend review

I saw I am Legend on its opening night. Here is my review:

I am sure everyone knows it stars Will Smith. I have never been a huge fan of his. I did enjoy Independence Day, but never got into the Bad Boys series. He and everyone attached to Wild Wild West should never be forgiven for that movie. I have yet to see Ali, so I haven’t really seen what would be considered his ‘best’ work. That said, I thought his performance was above average in this movie. He showed decent range. I didn’t necessarily laugh at most of the jokes, but I don’t blame him; I think it was the script’s fault for that.

The movie did contain about 4 legitimately good scares, which come out of nowhere and almost have you jumping out of your seat. There were a few really great shots in the movie as well. Specifically, there is the shot a bunch of spotlights are turned onto what I will call for the purposes of not spoiling anything ‘the evil creatures’ and you just see the shadows, which are extremely enlarged due to the angle of the lights. This shot is in the trailer, and is one of the coolest things I have seen on the big screen this year. One more thing I really enjoyed, the pacing during the first half of the movie. Very slow pacing used to build up to the action sequences.

However, I did have some problems with the movie. There is a deal with the evil creatures that I feel wasn’t explained very well. I won’t say what as to avoid spoiling anything. Also, I didn’t like the look of the evil creatures. It was far too CGI-rific for me. I could have done without the religious undertones, which went from subtle to extremely in-your-face.

Overall it wasn’t bad, but it also wasn’t as great. If you are a fan of Will Smith, you will probably really dig it. If you don’t have any problem with a movie that is 85% CGI than you will probably dig it. If neither of those applies to you, than you will probably still be ok with the movie; you won’t hate it, but you won’t love it.

Rating: 6/10

Leave a Reply

